Can I drink whey protein if I’m lactose intolerant?

Posted on July 18, 2014 By

Dog

The short answer: Yes!

The long answer: Whey protein isolate (as opposed to concentrate – I wrote an article about the difference here) contains less than 1% of the lactose that milk does. This means that, although it’s made from milk, it contains so little lactose that you will not have the typical lactose-intolerance symptoms from consuming whey protein isolate.

So, which whey protein should I take if I have lactose intolerance?

I strongly recommend Isopure whey protein if you’re looking for whey protein isolate. I wrote an article about my favorite flavors here, but a great starting point is Isopure Dutch Chocolate. Everyone likes chocolate! Once you try that and confirm for yourself that whey protein isolate won’t trigger your lactose-intolerant symptoms, you can check out some whey-protein recipes so you don’t have to drink shakes all the time.

Of course, you need to be eating real food, not just shakes – a healthy mix of eggs, beef, chicken, fish, and vegetable-based proteins such as beans, peas, and nuts should form the basis of your protein intake. Protein supplements are just that – an addition to your healthy diet to give you the extra protein you want and need.

Protein Questions and Answers     , ,